font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]

The Order Rosales is a member of the Class Magnoliopsida. Here is the complete "parentage" of Rosales:

The Order Rosales is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]


Barbeya oleoides is the only species of its family (Barbeyaceae). It is a small tree native to the mountains of Somalia, Ethiopia, and the Arabian Peninsula. It can be found locally abundant in the transition zone between the dry, evergreen, Afromontane forests and lower-elevation evergreen bushlands. [more]




Dirachma is the sole genus of the family Dirachmaceae. The genus has been monotypic until a second species was recently discovered in Somalia (>). [more]


Elaeagnaceae, the oleaster family, is a plant family of the order Rosales comprising small trees and shrubs, native to temperate regions of the Northern Hemisphere, south into tropical Asia and Australia. The family has 45-50 species in three genera. [more]


Moraceae ? often called the mulberry family or fig family ? are a family of flowering plants comprising about 40 genera and over 1000 species. Most are widespread in tropical and subtropical regions, less so in temperate climates. The only synapomorphy within Moraceae is presence of laticifers and milky sap in all parenchymatous tissues, but generally useful field characters include two carpels sometimes with one reduced, compound inconspicuous flowers, and compound fruits. Included are well-known plants such as the fig, banyan, breadfruit, mulberry, and Osage-orange. The 'flowers' of Moraceae are often pseudanthia (reduced inflorescences). [more]


Rhamnaceae, the Buckthorn family, is a large family of flowering plants, mostly trees, shrubs and some vines. [more]


Rosaceae (the rose family) are a medium-sized family of flowering plants, including about 2830 species in 95 genera. The name is derived from the type genus Rosa. Among the largest genera are Alchemilla (270), Sorbus (260), Crataegus (260), Cotoneaster (260), and Rubus (250). The largest genus by far is Prunus (plums, cherries, peaches, apricots and almonds) with about 430 species. However, all of these numbers should be seen as underestimates - much taxonomic work is left to be done here. [more]


Ulmaceae is a family of flowering plant that includes the elms (genus Ulmus), and the zelkovas (genus Zelkova). Members of the family are widely distributed throughout the north temperate zone, and have a scattered distribution elsewhere except for Australasia. [more]


Urticaceae, or the nettle family, is a family of flowering plants. The family name comes from the genus Urtica (nettles). Urticaceae include a number of well-known and useful plants, including the aforementioned nettles, ramie (Boehmeria nivea), mamaki (Pipturus albidus), and ajlai (). [more]

At least 5,473 species and subspecies belong to the Family Urticaceae.

More info about the Family Urticaceae may be found here.


Last Revised: August 25, 2014
2014/08/25 15:51:10