font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]

The Order Fagales is a member of the Class Magnoliopsida. Here is the complete "parentage" of Fagales:

The Order Fagales is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]


Betulaceae, or the Birch Family, includes six genera of deciduous nut-bearing trees and shrubs, including the birches, alders, hazels, hornbeams and hop-hornbeams, numbering about 130 species. They are mostly natives of the temperate Northern Hemisphere, with a few species reaching the Southern Hemisphere in the Andes in South America. [more]


Casuarinaceae is a family of dicotyledonous flowering plants placed in the order Fagales, consisting of 3 or 4 genera and approximately 70 species of trees and shrubs native to the Old World tropics (Indo-Malaysia), Australia, and the Pacific Islands. At one time, all of the species were placed in the genus Casuarina, but these were split in 1982 into the genera Allocasuarina, Casuarina, , and Gymnostoma. Somewhat controversial at the time, the monophyly of these genera was later supported in a 2003 molecular study of the family. In the Wettstein system, this family was the only one placed in the order Verticillatae. Likewise, in the Engler, Cronquist and Kubitzki systems, Casuarinaceae was the only family placed in the order Casuarinales. [more]


The family Fagaceae, or beech family, comprises about 900 species of both evergreen and deciduous trees and shrubs, which are characterized by alternate simple leaves with pinnate venation, unisexual flowers in the form of catkins, and fruit in the form of cup-like (cupule) nuts. Fagaceous leaves are often lobed and both petioles and stipules are generally present. Fruits lack endosperm and lie in a scaly or spiny husk that may or may not enclose the entire nut, which may consist of one to seven seeds. The best-known group of this family is the oaks, genus Quercus, the fruit of which is a non-valved nut (usually containing one seed) called an acorn. The husk of the acorn in most oaks only forms a cup in which the nut sits. [more]


The Juglandaceae, also known as the walnut family, is a family of trees, or sometimes shrubs, in the order Fagales. Various members of this family are native to the Americas, Eurasia, and Southeast Asia. Members of the walnut family have large, aromatic leaves that are usually alternate, but opposite in Alfaroa and Oreomunnia. The leaves are pinnately compound, or ternate, and usually 20?100 cm long. [more]


The Myricaceae is a small family of dicotyledonous shrubs and small trees in the order Fagales. There are three genera in the family, although some botanists separate many species from Myrica into a fourth genus Morella. About 35 species are usually accepted in Myrica, one in Canacomyrica and one in Comptonia. [more]




Rhoiptelea is a monotypic genus of flowering plants in the Juglandaceae family. It contains a single species, Rhoiptelea chiliantha, commonly known as the horsetail tree. This genus was previously recognized in its own family, Rhoipteleaceae, but the APG III system of 2009 placed it in the Juglandaceae family. Rhoiptelea chiliantha is native to southwest China and north Vietnam and lives at the elevation of 700-1600m in mountainous areas. The trees are wind-pollinated, the flowers arranged in large sagged panicles usually 32 cm long like horse tails, and the fruit is a small botanical nut with rounded wings. The leaves are pinnately compound and papery. The trees are usually 17 m high and with 40 cm diameter. It is a protected species of China. [more]


Ticodendron incognitum is the only species of Ticodendron, and the only member of the family Ticodendraceae. It is most closely related to the family Betulaceae. [more]

More info about the Family Ticodendraceae may be found here.


[ Back to top ]
Last Revised: August 25, 2014
2014/08/25 15:45:40