font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]

The Order Dipsacales is a member of the Class Magnoliopsida. Here is the complete "parentage" of Dipsacales:

The Order Dipsacales is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]


The Adoxaceae is a small family of flowering plants in the order Dipsacales, as now constituted comprising four genera and about 150-200 species. It is characterised by opposite toothed leaves, small five- or, more rarely, four-petalled flowers in cymose inflorescences, and the fruit being a drupe. They are thus similar to many Cornaceae. [more]


The Caprifoliaceae or honeysuckle family is a clade consisting of about 800 dicotyledonous flowering plants, with a nearly cosmopolitan distribution; centres of diversity are found in eastern North America and eastern Asia, while they are absent in tropical and southern Africa. [more]




The Dipsacaceae, or teasel family, of the order Dipsacales contains 350 species of perennial or biennial herbs and shrubs in eleven genera. Native to most temperate climates, they are found in Europe, Asia and Africa. Some species of this family have been naturalized in other places. [more]








The Valerianaceae, or valerian family, of the order Dipsacales contains about 350 species in 7 genera. Plants are generally herbaceous and foliage often has a strong, disagreeable odor. They are found native in most regions of the world except for Australia. Some species are cultivated as ornamentals or used in herbal medicine for inducing relaxation and sleep. [more]

At least 133 species and subspecies belong to the Family Valerianaceae.

More info about the Family Valerianaceae may be found here.


[ Back to top ]
Last Revised: August 25, 2014
2014/08/25 15:45:02