font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]

The Order Cucurbitales is a member of the Class Magnoliopsida. Here is the complete "parentage" of Cucurbitales:

The Order Cucurbitales is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]


Anisophylleaceae is a small family with four genera in the order Cucurbitales, according to the APG II. However it is more isolated from the other suprafamilal clades in this order, while it shows some similarities in flower morphology with the genus Ceratopetalum (family Cunoniaceae, order Oxalidales). Several wood features of this family, are more primitive than those of the other families in the order Cucurbitales. [more]


Begoniaceae is a family of flowering plants with about 1400 species occurring in the subtropics and tropics of both the New World and Old World. All but one of the species are in the genus Begonia. The only other genus in the family, Hillebrandia, is endemic to the Hawaiian Islands and has a single species. Phylogenetic work supports Hillebrandia as the sister taxon to the rest of the family. The genus Symbegonia has recently been reduced to a section of Begonia as recent molecular phylogenies have shown it to be derived from within that genus. [more]




Corynocarpus is the only genus of plants in the family Corynocarpaceae. It comprises six species growing from New Guinea to New Zealand and islands in the western Pacific Ocean. [more]


The plant family Cucurbitaceae consists of various squashes, melons, and gourds, including crops such as cucumber, pumpkins, luffas, and watermelons. The family is predominantly distributed around the tropics, where those with edible fruits were amongst the earliest cultivated plants in both the Old and New Worlds. [more]


Datiscaceae are a family of Dicotyledonous plants, containing two species of the genus Datisca. Two other genera, Octomeles and Tetrameles are now classified in the Tetramelaceae family. [more]

At least 17 species and subspecies belong to the Family Datiscaceae.

More info about the Family Datiscaceae may be found here.


[ Back to top ]
Last Revised: August 25, 2014
2014/08/25 15:44:12