font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]

The Order Caryophyllales is a member of the Class Magnoliopsida. Here is the complete "parentage" of Caryophyllales:

The Order Caryophyllales is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]


Achatocarpaceae is a family of woody flowering plants. The family consists of two genera and ten species, and has been recognized by most taxonomists. It is found from the southwestern United States south to tropical and subtropical South America. [more]






The Amaranthaceae, the Amaranth family, represent the most species-rich lineage within the flowering plant order of Caryophyllales. Including the goosefoot family (Chenopodiaceae), the extended family contains approximately 180 genera and 2,500 species. [more]


Ancistrocladaceae is the botanical name for a family of flowering plants. Such a family has been widely recognized by taxonomists. [more]


Asteropeiaceae is the botanical name for a family of flowering plants. Such a family has been recognized by very few taxonomists. [more]


Barbeuia madagascariensis is a liana found only on the island of Madagascar. [more]


Basellaceae is a family of flowering plants, in the order Caryophyllales in the clade core eudicots, according to the Angiosperm Phylogeny Group. The family comprises some two dozen species of herbaceous plants, some with climbing habits, in four genera: [more]


A cactus is a member of the plant family Cactaceae, within the order Caryophyllales. The plural of cactus varies; the Latin cacti, the English cactuses and the uninflected plural cactus are all in use. The distinctive appearance of cacti is a result of adaptations to conserve water in dry and/or hot environments. In most species, the stem has evolved to become photosynthetic and succulent, while the leaves have evolved into spines. Many species are used for ornamental plants, and some are also grown for fodder, forage, fruits, cochineal, and other uses. [more]


The Caryophyllaceae, commonly called the pink family or carnation family, is a family of flowering plants. It is included in the dicotyledon order Caryophyllales in the APG III system, alongside 33 other families, including Amaranthaceae, Cactaceae and Polygonaceae. It is a large family, with 86 genera and some 2,200 species. [more]


Chenopodiaceae were a family of flowering plants, also called the Goosefoot Family. They are now included within family Amaranthaceae. The vast majority of Chenopods are weeds, and many are salt and drought tolerant. A few food crops also belong to the family: spinach, beets, chard, quinoa, and sugar beets. Chenopod pollen is a common allergen, but most Chenopod crops do not produce pollen. [more]






Droseraceae is the botanical name for a family of flowering plants. The family is also known under its common name, the sundew family. [more]


Frankeniaceae is the botanical name for a family of flowering plants. Such a family has been widely recognized by many taxonomists; it has commonly been assumed to be closely related to family Tamaricaceae. [more]










Molluginaceae is a family of flowering plants recognized by several taxonomists. The APG II system, of 2003 (unchanged from the APG system, of 1998), also recognizes such a family and assigns it to the order Caryophyllales in the clade core eudicots. The family comprises about a hundred species, and was previously included in the larger family Aizoaceae. [more]


The Nepenthes (), popularly known as tropical pitcher plants or monkey cups, are a genus of carnivorous plants in the monotypic family Nepenthaceae. The genus comprises roughly 140 species, numerous natural and many cultivated hybrids. They are mostly liana-forming plants of the Old World tropics, ranging from South China, Indonesia, Malaysia and the Philippines; westward to Madagascar (2 species) and the Seychelles (1); southward to Australia (3) and New Caledonia (1); and northward to India (1) and Sri Lanka (1). The greatest diversity occurs on Borneo and Sumatra with many endemic species. Many are plants of hot humid lowland areas, but the majority are tropical montane plants, receiving warm days but cool to cold humid nights year round. A few are considered tropical alpine with cool days and nights near freezing. The name monkey cups refers to the fact that monkeys have been observed drinking rainwater from these plants. [more]


Nyctaginaceae, the Four O'Clock Family, is a family of around 33 genera and 290 species of flowering plants, widely distributed in tropical and subtropical regions, with a few representatives in temperate regions. The family has a unique fruit type, called an "anthocarp", and many genera have extremely large (>100 ?m) pollen grains. [more]






Phytolaccaceae is the botanical name for a family of flowering plants. Such a family has been almost universally recognized by taxonomists, although its circumscription has varied. It is also known as the Pokeweed family. [more]




Polygonaceae is a family of flowering plants known informally as the "knotweed family" or "smartweed family"? "buckwheat family" in the United States. The name is based on the genus Polygonum and was first used by Antoine Laurent de Jussieu in 1789 in his book, Genera Plantarum. The name refers to the many swollen nodes that the stems of some species have. It is derived from Greek; poly means many and goni means knee or joint. [more]


Portulacaceae are a family of flowering plants, comprising about 20 genera with about 500 species, ranging from herbaceous plants to shrubs. The family has been recognised by most taxonomists, and is also known as the purslane family; it has a cosmopolitan distribution, with the highest diversity in semi-arid regions of the Southern Hemisphere in Africa, Australia, and South America, but with a few species also extending north into Arctic regions. The family is very similar to the Caryophyllaceae differing in the calyx which has only two sepals. [more]






Simmondsiaceae or the Jojoba Family is a family of flowering plants. The family is not recognized by all taxonomic systems, the single species, Simmondsia chinensis, often being treated as belonging to family Buxaceae. [more]




Tamaricaceae (the tamarisk family) is a flowering plant family containing four genera. In the 1980s, the family was classified in the Violales under the Cronquist system; more modern classifications (Angiosperm Phylogeny Group) place them in the Caryophyllales. [more]



More info about the Family Tetragoniaceae may be found here.


[ Back to top ]
Last Revised: August 25, 2014
2014/08/25 15:42:44