font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]

(Gr. arkhaios: old) The domain comprising what were formerly known as the archaebacteria. What used to be the kingdom Archaebacteria has been split into two kingdoms: Crenarchaeota and Euryarchaeota. The domain Archaea contains the phenotypes: methanogens, sulphate-reducing organisms, and extremophiles.


[ Back to top ]

The Kingdom Archaea is a member of the Domain Archaea. Here is the complete "parentage" of Archaea:

The Kingdom Archaea is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]


In the taxonomy of microorganisms, the Euryarchaeota (Greek for "broad old quality") are a phylum of the Archaea. [more]

At least 236 species and subspecies belong to the Phylum Euryarchaeota.

More info about the Phylum Euryarchaeota may be found here.


[ Back to top ]
Last Revised: August 21, 2014
2014/08/21 12:10:57