font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]

The Order Testudines is a member of the Class Reptilia. Here is the complete "parentage" of Testudines:

The Order Testudines is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]








Geoemydidae (formerly known as Bataguridae) is the largest and most diverse family[] in the order Testudines (turtles) with about 70 species. It includes the Eurasian pond and river turtles and Neotropical wood turtles. [more]


The pig-nosed turtle (Carettochelys insculpta), also known as the pitted-shelled turtle or fly river turtle, is a species of turtle native to freshwater streams, lagoons and rivers of Australia and New Guinea. This species is the only living member of the genus Carettochelys, the subfamily Carettochelyinae and the family Carettochelyidae; however, numerous extinct carettochelyid species have been described from all over the world. [more]


The Chelidae are one of three living families of the turtle suborder Pleurodira and are commonly called the Austro-South American side neck turtles. The family is distributed in Australia, New Guinea, parts of Indonesia and throughout most of South America. It is a large family of turtles with a significant fossil history going back to the Cretaceous. The family is entirely Gondwanan in origin, with no members found outside of Gondwana, either in the present day or as a fossil. [more]


Cheloniidae is a family of turtles belonging to the sea turtle superfamily Chelonioidea. [more]


Chelydridae is a family of turtles which has seven extinct and two extant genera. The extant genera are Chelydra the snapping turtles, and its larger relative Macrochelys, of which the Alligator Snapping Turtle (Macrochelys temminckii) is the only species. Both are endemic to the Western Hemisphere. The extinct genera are Acherontemys, Chelydrops, Chelydropsis, Emarginachelys, Macrocephalochelys, Planiplastron, and Protochelydra. [more]


The Central American river turtle or Mesoamerican river turtle (Dermatemys mawii) locally known as the "hickatee" or "tortuga blanca"-(white turtle) is the only living species in the family Dermatemydidae. Its closest relatives are only known from fossils [more]


Dermochelyidae is a family of turtles which has eight extinct and one extant genera. [more]




Emydidae, commonly called the pond turtles or marsh turtles, is a family of turtles. Previously, several species of Asian box turtle were classified in the family. However, revised taxonomy has separated them to a different family. Now, Emydidae, with the exception of two species of pond turtle, is entirely a Western Hemisphere family. The family Emydidae includes close to 50 species in 10 genera. [more]


Geoemydidae (formerly known as Bataguridae) is the largest and most diverse family[] in the order Testudines (turtles) with about 70 species. It includes the Eurasian pond and river turtles and Neotropical wood turtles. [more]






Kinosternidae is a family of mostly small turtles that includes the mud turtles and musk turtles. The family Kinosternidae contains 25 species within 4 genera, but taxonomic reclassification is an ongoing process so many sources vary on the exact numbers of species and subspecies. They inhabit slow-moving bodies of water, often with soft, muddy bottoms and abundant vegetation. [more]








Pelomedusidae is a family of freshwater turtles native to eastern and southern Africa. They range in size from 12 centimetres (4.7 in) to 45 centimetres (18 in) in shell length, and are generally roundish in shape. They are unable to fully withdraw their heads into their shells, instead drawing it to the side and folding it beneath the upper edge of the shell, and hence are called African side-necked turtles. [more]


The big-headed turtle (Platysternon megacephalum) is a species of turtle in the family Platysternidae. [more]


















Tortoises (, Testudinidae) are a family of land-dwelling reptiles of the order of turtles (Testudines). Like their marine cousins, the sea turtles, tortoises are shielded from predators by a shell. The top part of the shell is the carapace, the underside is the plastron, and the two are connected by the bridge. The tortoise has both an endoskeleton and an exoskeleton. Tortoises can vary in size from a few centimeters to two meters. Tortoises are usually diurnal animals with tendencies to be crepuscular depending on the ambient temperatures. They are generally reclusive animals. [more]




Trionychidae is a taxonomic family which comprises a number of turtle genera commonly known as softshells. They are also sometimes called pancake turtles. Softshells consist of some of the world's largest fresh water turtles, though many can adapt to living in highly brackish areas. Members of this family occur in Africa, Asia, North America, and Southeast Asia. North American members of genus Trionyx were fairly recently (1987) assigned the resurrected genus name Apalone by Meylan, though they are still listed semi-correctly as Trionyx in some texts. [more]

At least 196 species and subspecies belong to the Family Trionychidae.

More info about the Family Trionychidae may be found here.


[ Back to top ]
Last Revised: August 25, 2014
2014/08/25 15:25:08