font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]

A Super-family in the Kingdom Animalia.


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]

The Superfamily Phasianoidea is a member of the Series Amniota. Here is the complete "parentage" of Phasianoidea:

The Superfamily Phasianoidea is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]


The Phasianidae is a family of birds which consists of the pheasants and partridges, including the junglefowl (including chicken), Old World Quail, francolins, monals and peafowl. The family is a large one, and is occasionally broken up into two subfamilies, the Phasianinae, and the Perdicinae. Sometimes additional families and birds are treated as being in this family as well; the American Ornithologists' Union includes Tetraonidae (the grouse), Numididae (guineafowls), and Meleagrididae (turkeys) in Phasianidae as subfamilies. [more]


Grouse () are a group of birds from the order Galliformes. They are sometimes considered a family Tetraonidae, though the American Ornithologists' Union and many others include grouse as a subfamily Tetraoninae in the family Phasianidae. Grouse inhabit temperate and subarctic regions of the northern hemisphere, from pine forests to moorland and mountainside, from 83? North (Rock Ptarmigan in northern Greenland) to 28? North (Attwater's Prairie Chicken in Texas). Presumably they evolved in this zone. [more]

At least 135 species and subspecies belong to the Family Tetraonidae.

More info about the Family Tetraonidae may be found here.


[ Back to top ]
Last Revised: August 25, 2014
2014/08/25 23:51:52