font settings

Font Size: Large | Normal | Small
Font Face: Verdana | Geneva | Georgia




[ Back to top ]

A Family in the Kingdom Animalia.


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]

The Family Macropodidae is a member of the Order Diprotodontia. Here is the complete "parentage" of Macropodidae:

The Family Macropodidae is further organized into finer groupings including:


[ Back to top ]






Tree-kangaroos are macropods adapted for life in trees. They inhabit the rainforests of New Guinea, far northeastern Queensland, and nearby islands. Although most are found in mountainous areas, several species also occur in lowlands, such as the aptly named Lowlands Tree-kangaroo. Most tree-kangaroos are considered threatened due to hunting and habitat loss. [more]


The dorcopsises are the of the genus Dorcopsis and Dorcopsulus. [more]




Dorcopsulus is a genus of marsupial in the Macropodidae family. It contains the following species: [more]






Lagorchestes is a genus containing all but one of the species referred to as hare-wallabies. It has four species, two of which are extinct: [more]


The banded hare-wallaby or mernine (Lagostrophus fasciatus) is a marsupial that is currently found on the Islands of Bernier and Dorre off western Australia. A small population has recently been established on Faure Island and it appears to have been successful. Evidence suggested that the mernine was the only living member of the Sthenurine subfamily, and a recent osteology-based phylogeny of Macropodids found that the banded hare-wallaby was indeed a bastion of an ancient lineage, agreeing with other (molecular) appraisals of the evolutionary history of L. fasciatus. However, the authors analysis did not support the placement of the mernine within Sthenurinae, but suggest it belongs to a plesiomorphic clade which branched off from other Macropodids in the early Miocene and put forward the new subfamily Lagostrophinae. This new subfamily includes the banded hare-wallaby and the fossil genus . [more]



Macropus is a marsupial genus that belongs to the family Macropodidae, it has 14 species which are further divided into 3 subgenera. The genus includes all terrestrial kangaroos, wallaroos and several species of wallaby. The term itself is derived from the Ancient Greek makros "long" and pous "foot". A further 11 extinct species are recognised. The type species is the Eastern Grey Kangaroo. [more]


A Genus in the Kingdom Animalia.[1] [more]




The nail-tail wallabies (genus Onychogalea) are three species of macropod found in Australia. They are distinguished by a horny spur at the end of their tail, and are now generally very rare. Only one species (the northern nail-tail wallaby) has survived European settlement unscathed: the crescent nail-tail is extinct, and the bridled nail-tail is seriously endangered. Nail-tail wallabies are smaller than many other wallabies. [more]


A Genus in the Kingdom Animalia.[2] [more]


A Genus in the Kingdom Animalia.[3] [more]


The rock-wallabies are the wallabies of the genus Petrogale. [more]




The quokka (Setonix brachyurus), the only member of the genus Setonix, is a small macropod about the size of a domestic cat. Like other marsupials in the macropod family (such as the kangaroos and wallabies), the quokka is herbivorous and mainly nocturnal. It can be found on some smaller islands off the coast of Western Australia, in particular on Rottnest Island just off Perth and Bald Island near Albany. A small mainland colony exists in the protected area of Two Peoples Bay, where they co-exist with Gilbert's potoroo. [more]



Simosthenurus is a genus of megafaunal macropods that existed in Australia in the Pleistocene. The members of the genus are large, Simosthenurus occidentalis weighed over 118 kilograms. [more]


Sthenurus ("Strong Tail") is an extinct genus of kangaroo. With a length of about 3 m (10 ft), some species were twice as large as modern extant species. Sthenurus was related to the better-known Procoptodon. [more]


Pademelons are small marsupials of the genus Thylogale. They are usually found in forests. Pademelons are the smallest of the macropods. The name is a corruption of badimaliyan, from the Dharuk Aboriginal language of Port Jackson (Sydney region). [more]




The swamp wallaby (Wallabia bicolor) is a small macropod marsupial of eastern Australia. This wallaby is also commonly known as the black wallaby, with other names including black-tailed wallaby, fern wallaby, black pademelon, stinker (in Queensland), and black stinker (in New South Wales). The swamp wallaby is the only living member of the genus Wallabia. [more]

At least 8 species and subspecies belong to the Genus Wallabia.

More info about the Genus Wallabia may be found here.


[ Back to top ]


[ Back to top ]
Last Revised: August 26, 2014
2014/08/26 03:07:44